Welcome on the website dedicated to our studies.

You can find here our publications and will soon be able to discover our blog on new philanthropic and business models.



		

Shareholder foundations : the first European study

(paper version)

The model of shareholder foundation, which combines charitable giving and investment, capitalism and philanthropy, remains largely ignored in France. The Laboratoires Pierre Fabre are indeed an exception in the French economic/business landscape. Prophil, a French strategic consulting firm, specialized in new philanthropic and economic models, has naturally chosen shareholder foundations as a research topic.

Following a conference organized with Delsol Avocats in March 2014, Propil decided to gather this well-known law firm, the Philanthropy Chair of the Essec Business School, to explore the topic with the financial support of Mazars. The study was conducted in 4 European countries: Denmark, Germany, France and Switzerland.

The study explores an economic reality that remains a groundbreaking terra incognita. This model is paradoxical: widespread yet unknown, influence yet discreet, virtuous for some and subversive for others. It is the starting point of a collective reflection that needs to be pursued.

Mission-led companies : the first internatioanl overview

(pdf version)

Since a decade new legal forms are emerging in different countries, encouraging business to serve a (social, societal, environmental) mission defined in the social object, opposable by the stakeholders, with their economic performances. This study published by the Prophil office, in partnership with Mines ParisTech,  Groupe Caisse des Dépôts, KPMG France and Sycomore Asset Management, reveals and compares for the first time this new hybrid legal forms, inspiring for France.

The mission led business overcomes the discretionary approach of the corporate social responsibility (CSR) policies, assuming an enforceability of its engagements regarding extra financial impacts. It establishes new governance rules and repositions the business within society. In the dynamism of solidary and social economy, it assumes its economic performances and activities impact measure research.

From the United States, to Italy, through Canada or the United Kingdom, mission led business bloom and render a powerful dynamic. Who are the pioneers? Why do they choose these new hybrid legal forms? Why do they statutorily commit themselves beyond existing certifications? How does the mission get defined and evaluated? How do the stakeholders get associated to its realization? What makes the mission useful for the performance and reciprocally?

Who we are ?

Prophil_logo-RVB

An independant consulting firm

Dedicated to building innovative bridges between economic investment goals and philanthropy.

Founded by Virginie Seghers in association with Geneviève Ferone Creuzet, Prophil advises corporations, private and corporate foundations, and individuals at every stage of economic/social/philanthropic investment in order to assist its clients in achieving greater social impact:  vision,  strategy, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation.  An independent company, operating on a human scale, Prophil offers an individualized, tailor-made approach to every client’s needs, and is built on the more than 20 years of experience of its associates with both French and international business environments.

From philanthropy to impact investing

Philanthropy is R&D for business.

Prophil is the creative result of a dual focus on both responsible economics and philanthropic outcomes.  Made possible by the combined and complementary expertise of Virginie Seghers and Geneviève Ferone Creuzet, Prophil represents the synthesis of a new, more entrepreneurial philanthropy, which differs radically from traditional charity, and socially-responsible, more collaborative, economic activity.  Prophil focuses on complementary actions, from donation to impact investment, carried forward in a coherent and mutually-reinforcing way.

A more inclusive economic vision

An altruistic economy takes into account the interests of the next generations, the common good, and seeks to reorient economic activity toward long-term environmental and economic, cultural, and social challenges.  It is based on including the considerations of all stakeholders – present and future, rather than the sole accomplishment of short-term economic objectives.  It puts the human being, and the environment, at the heart of its initiatives.  This new economic vision occurs uniquely at the interface between the new philanthropy and entrepreneurship – and is the heart of Prophil’s mission.

Bienvenue sur le site des éditions de Prophil

Retrouvez nos publications sur les nouveaux modèles philanthropiques et économiques.

Les fondations actionnaires : première étude européenne

Le modèle des fondations actionnaires, qui articule de façon indissociable don et investissement, capitalisme et philanthropie, est largement méconnu en France, où les laboratoires Pierre Fabre font figure d’exception. Prophil, cabinet de conseil spécialisé dans les nouveaux modèles philanthropiques et économiques, a naturellement choisi comme ce thème comme sujet d’étude.

Dans la continuité d’une conférence organisée avec Delsol Avocats (mars 2014), Prophil s’est entouré de ce cabinet d’avocats de référence, et de la Chaire Philanthropie de l’ESSEC, pour approfondir, avec le soutien de Mazars, le sujet dans 4 pays européens : le Danemark, l’Allemagne, la Suisse et la France.

L’étude lève le voile sur une réalité économique qui échappe aux statistiques. Un sujet à la fois foisonnant et d’avenir, vertueux pour certains et subversif pour d’autres. Elle est le point de départ d’une réflexion à poursuivre collectivement.

Les entreprises à mission : premier panorama international

Depuis une dizaine d’années, de nouveaux statuts émergent, dans différents pays (Etats-Unis, Canada, Royaume-Uni, Italie principalement), pour encourager les entreprises à mettre leur performance économique au service d’une mission (sociale, sociétale, environnementale ou scientifique) définie dans l’objet social et opposable par les parties-prenantes. Ce panorama international, réalisé en collaboration avec Mines ParisTech et avec le soutien du Groupe Caisses des Dépôts, KPMG France et Sycomore AM, révèle et compare pour la première fois ces nouveaux statuts hybrides, inspirants pour la France.

Des Etats-Unis à l’Italie, en passant par le Canada ou le Royaume-Uni, les entreprises à mission fleurissent et traduisent une dynamique puissante. Qui sont les pionniers ? Pourquoi choisissent-ils ces nouveaux statuts hybrides ? Pourquoi s’engagent-ils statutairement au-delà des certifications existantes ? Comment se définit et s’évalue la mission ? Comment les parties-prenantes sont-elles associées à sa réalisation ? En quoi la mission sert-elle la performance et réciproquement ?

Qui sommes-nous ?

Prophil_logo-RVB

Société indépendante de conseil

Prophil est une société de conseil en stratégie, spécialiste des nouveaux modèles philanthropiques et économiques. Fondée en 2013 par Virginie Seghers et Geneviève Ferone Creuzet, Prophil accompagne les entreprises et les entrepreneurs, en France et à l’international, dans leurs projets d’innovation sociale, alliant don et investissement, dans une recherche de synergie entre impact social et efficacité économique.

Philanthropie et l’impact investing

Fondé par Virginie Seghers et Geneviève Ferone Creuzet qui associent leurs expertises dans le monde des entreprises françaises et internationales, Prophil favorise les synergies entre une nouvelle philanthropie plus entrepreneuriale, qui se distingue radicalement de la charité, et une économie soucieuse de son impact, responsable et collaborative. Prophil couvre ainsi des champs complémentaires, du don à l’impact investing, dans un souci de cohérence et d’efficacité.

Pour une économie plus altruiste

L’économie altruiste prend en compte l’intérêt des générations futures, le bien commun, et vise à réorienter l’économie vers des enjeux de long terme, sur les plans culturels, sociaux, environnementaux et économiques. Pour Prophil, la philanthropie est un laboratoire d’innovation sociale, capable d’inspirer et de transformer durablement les organisations. L’économie altruiste est la synergie entre philanthropie (« aimer l’Homme ») et entrepreneuriat : le projet de Prophil.